UAlg Summer Concert - "Mendelssohn - between the Sacred and the Profane"

Campus de Gambelas - Grande Auditório Caixa Geral de Depósitos

The Grande Auditório Caixa Geral de Depósitos will host, on June 11th, at 9.30 p.m., the UAlg Summer Concert, by the Orquestra Clássica do Sul, dedicated Mendelssohn - between the Sacred and the Profane.

The unmistakable expression of Mendelssohn's deep aesthetic sensitivity and high musical spirituality can be appreciated in the programme of this concert - his first symphony and Psalm 42, for orchestra, choir, and solo soprano.

The orchestra will be conducted by guest conductor Vasco Pearce Azevedo and will feature soprano Ana Madalena Moreira and the OCS Participatory Choir. Rui Baeta will be the coordinator and vocal coach.

The initiative is of free entrance, but subject to room capacity.


F. MENDELSSOHN (1809 – 1847)

Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 11

I. Allegro di molto

II. Andante

III. Menuetto. Allegro molto – Trio

IV. Allegro con fuoco – Più stretto


F. MENDELSSOHN (1809 – 1847)

Salmo 42 Wie der Hirsch schreit nach frischem Wasser


I. Choir. Wie der Hirsch schreit

II. Aria. Meine Seele dürstet

III. Recitative. Meine Thränen sind

IV. Choir. Was betrübst du dich

V. e Recitative. Mein Gott, betrübt ist meine Seele

VI. Quintet. Der Herr hat des Tages verheissen

VII. Choir. Was betrübst du dich meine Seele


More information here.