About the University of Algarve (UAlg)


The University of Algarve is a young state university, established in 1979 and acquiring a sound international reputation over the years. The University has witnessed a significant growth in terms of student population, modern facilities and the quality and diversity of programmes on offer.

Founded on the 16th January 1979, the University of Algarve results from the union of two preexisting institutions, the University of Algarve and the Polytechnic Institute of Faro, which makes it somewhat unique from most universities given that Faculties and Schools of both systems, co-exist.

In 1982, the first rector of the University, Prof. Gomes Guerreiro (1982-1986) was appointed, following by Prof. Lloyd Braga (1986-1990), Prof. Montalvão Marques (1990-1993), Prof. Alte da Veiga (1993-1997), Prof. Adriano Pimpão (1998-2006), and Prof. João Guerreiro, the current rector since 2006.

Following the approval of the Universities Autonomy Law, the University Assembly, comprising the representatives of academic and administrative staff and students of all the Faculties and Schools, approved the Statutes in 1991, which received subsequent approval by the Ministry of Education. In 2001, the first University Statute amendment was published in the Portuguese government’s official gazette.

The University student population is today close to 10,000 and employs over 700 academics. It has three faculties and four schools, offering a range of quality undergraduate and postgraduate courses in beautiful academic settings.

It is an important centre for cultural, scientific and technological development, with strong regional, national and international ties, offering students the opportunity to explore various careers as they gain transferable skills.


The following governing bodies are responsible for the financial and administrative management of the University, as well as directing educational, scientific and cultural activities:

  • General Council
  • Rector
  • Management Board
  • Academic Senate

The University of Algarve has 3 Faculties and 4 Schools distributed over 4 campuses:

  1. The Penha Campus, in downtown Faro, with three Schools:
  • School of Education and Communication (ESEC);
  • School of Management, Hospitality and Tourism (ESGHT);
  • Institute of Engineering (ISE).
  1. The Gambelas Campus, 6 km from Faro and 2 km from Faro International Airport, has three Faculties and a new Department:
  • Faculty of Human and Social Sciences  (FCHS);
  • Faculty of Economics (FE);
  • Faculty of Sciences and Technology (FCT);
  • Department of Biomedical Sciences and Medicine (DCBM).
  1. The Saúde Campus, situated at the entrance of the city, comprises the School of Health (ESSUAlg).
  1. The Portimão Campus, located in the city of Portimão, the second largest city in the Algarve, offers degrees in management and tourism. This campus arose from a need for decentralisation.


The teaching and research labs at the University of Algarve, with state-of-the-art equipment, are important resources for academic and experiment activities.  All of the campuses offer specific classrooms, computer and multimedia labs, auditoriums, study and meeting rooms.

Wireless Internet access is available in all campuses of the University and in most spaces (class and study rooms, libraries, laboratories, etc.).

The Library

The University Library is composed of different services, with one on each campus. The Library receives, organises and provides access to bibliographic and documentary resources in several formats, in order to respond to educational, scientific and research activities of the University and the community. Bibliographic catalogue and access to the online resources are available from the library webpage at www.ualg.pt (select Structure – select Library).

Main email address: biblioteca@ualg.pt

Book renewal: bibrenova@ualg.pt

The Online Knowledge Library – B-On

Besides the resources available in each library, the University offers b-on (online knowledge library) access. B-on access is available on all University network computers (recognition and access control performed through IP protocol).  Users can access b-on through the University library website (www.ualg.pt ) or through the official b-on site (www.b-on.pt ).

Users have free access to full text articles of main international journal publications. B-on allows online access to more than 22,000 electronic publications, breaking the barrier, which in the past made accessing reference resources difficult.  Besides gaining access to full-length articles, other resources such as bibliographic references, catalogues, indexes, citation tools and other portals are available.


The University of Algarve has several residence halls located in the city of Faro, in the Penha Campus, near the Gambelas Campus and in the Portimão Campus, in a total of 600 beds.

The accommodation consists of common living rooms, single or double rooms, bathrooms, kitchens equipped with the necessary appliances, in addition to other existing equipment in the living rooms, such as television, video and music devices.

Although the University has limited places at the University Residences, mobility students may apply for accommodation when filling in their application form.


There are three on-campus refectories:

  • Penha Campus – Administration Building
  • Gambelas Campus – Main Refectory Building
  • Saúde Campus – School of Health.

There is also a grill in Gambelas Campus and Penha Campus, and a restaurant in Gambelas Campus.


There are several café-bars distributed through the various campuses.

At Gambelas Campus:

  • Main Lecture Building Café-Bar, Bldg. 3
  • Refectory Café-Bar, Bldg. 6
  • Café-Bar, Bldg. 7

At Penha Campus:

  • Main Building Café-Bar
  • School of Education and Communication Café-Bar
  • School of Management, Hospitality and Tourism Café-Bar

At Saúde Campus:

  • School of Health Café-Bar/Refectory

At Portimão Campus:

  • Portimão Café-Bar/Refectory



The Student Support and Welfare Services (SAS) offer healthcare in areas of general practice, gynaecology, nursing, and psychology and nutrition counselling. The University maintains contractual agreements in areas of dental care, physiotherapy and chiropody.

These services carry out different types of tests, promote the prevention of sexually transmitting diseases and participate in a European project on drug dependence.  SAS are also partners in a transnational observatory on drug prevention in higher institutions with an online information clinic offering advice and support on drugs and treatment.

Share Partilhar